Industrial Culture

Up into the 1990s, Duisburg mainly lived on iron and coal. Even though a structural change had started here, with its smelting plants HKM and Thyssen Krupp Duisburg is still one of Europe’s largest steel producers. However, the situation appears different for the coal production: The mines were closed and torn off to the largest part. Those which had been preserved have been converted to cultural sites and many of them are on the UNESCO’s World Heritage List.

In this, the Duisburg North Landscape Park takes an outstanding position: On an area of approx. 180 ha surrounding a decommissioned steelworks, industrial culture, nature and leisure facilities are united. Fairs, music festivals and openair cinema presentations take place here; an alpine climbing park, diving pools and viewing platforms as well as the fascinating light installation by the British artist Jonathan Park attract visitors from all over the world.

From our hotel, you reach the Landscape Park by car within only 10 min. By public transport the travel will take about 60 min – but has the additional attraction that the trip takes you through interesting old districts of Duisburg.

Click here for further information.

Industriekultur

Bis in die 1990er Jahre lebte Duisburg hauptsächlich von Eisen und Kohle. Auch wenn hier ein Strukturwandel eingesetzt hat, ist Duisburg mit den Hütten HKM und Thyssen Krupp immer noch einer der größten Stahlerzeuger in Europa. Bei der Kohle sieht es anders aus: Die Zechen wurden geschlossen und zum Teil abgerissen. Die, die erhalten geblieben sind, wurden zu Kulturstätten umfunktioniert, und viele von ihnen gehören zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe.

Eine herausragende Stellung nimmt dabei der Landschaftspark Duisburg-Nord ein. Auf einem 180 ha großen Gelände rund um ein stillgelegtes Hüttenwerk sind Industriekultur, Natur und Freizeitsportstätten vereinigt. Hier finden Messen, Musikfestivals und Openair-Kinovorführungen statt; alpiner Klettergarten, Tauchbassins und Aussichtsplattformen locken ebenso Besucher aus aller Welt an wie die faszinierende Lichtinstallation des britischen Künstlers Jonathan Park.

Den Landschaftspark Duisburg-Nord erreichen Sie von unserem Hotel aus mit dem Auto innerhalb von nur 10 Minuten. Mit dem öffentlichen Nahverkehr dauert die Anreise ca. 60 Minuten – hat aber einen zusätzlichen Reiz,  da Ihre Fahrt Sie durch eine Reihe interessanter alter Stadtteile führt.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.